Extracurriculars

Friday, November 25, 2011

Since joining the choir at Glenn Memorial UMC in Atlanta as a Choral Scholar, I am a firm believer that joining a choir is one of the best ways to 1) engage in the local culture, 2) establish a support system outside of school, and 3) meet some really wonderful people. With these goals in mind, I sought out a choir in London and discovered the Ionian Singers, a chamber choir based in North Lambeth who perform works from early music to contemporary music written by the conductor, Timothy Salter.

I’m happy to report that joining this choir has accomplished all of these things, and also given me an opportunity to sing. I didn’t realise how much I would miss singing when I came here.

We recently had a concert at All Saints’ in West Dulwich, and some of my lovely friends attended and took the picture that follow this post. It felt so good to be performing again. For interested parties, our repertoire was a mix of Purcell, Bach, Brahms, Standford, Nysdedt, Blow, and an original work by our conductor.

For extremely interested parties, here’s a link to our website: http://www.ioniansingers.co.uk/

In terms of other extracurriculars, I am working for a London-based catering company called By Word of Mouth. BWOM is known in London for doing quite high-end events, so I think it will be a great way to see and experience the city. Last week, for example, I worked at a dinner in the National Portrait Gallery. Talk about a beautiful place to host an event.

I’m even doing an event at a certain castle in Windsor. Ahem.

Since I always need lots of things going on, I’m really enjoying the Ionian Singers and BWOM. Studying in London is also a once-in-a-lifetime, so I’m trying to engage in “real life” here as much as possible.

________________

As an update to the Sam’s Leavin’ Town post at the end of September, we were, in fact, on Dutch television. The link follows, but I’d recommend starting at around 18:00. The language barrier in the first 18 minutes is kind of hard to overcome.

http://beta.uitzendinggemist.nl/afleveringen/1116432-tim-knol

One thought on “Extracurriculars

Now, share with me...

