First Day of Skewl

Monday, October 3, 2011

All day today this quote (sent in a Phi Beta Kappa newsletter a couple weeks ago) kept running through my head:

“Education is a social process. Education is growth. Education is, not a preparation for life; education is life itself.” —John Dewey (ΦBK, University of Vermont, 1879, in case you were interested)

So, here’s to beginning another rousing edition of “life itself.” This quote is somehow comforting in that my desire to learn for the rest of my life is shared by others. Now, perhaps Dewey didn’t mean to be in formal education (i.e. school) forever, but there’s no harm in taking him as literally as possible.

Currently, I’m deciding whether or not to apply for a PhD program that starts next September, or to wait a year after this program ends to begin something new. I feel strange though applying for programs for next year when I haven’t even begun this one!

One of my goals for this year was to focus on these topics and really take time to enjoy getting a Masters abroad. The more people I meet here, the more I realise how many amazing opportunities there are for people who take their time. Teaching in Korea, research in Syria, bar tending in Australia. Why not? I admit, however, that it is hard for me to slow down. Moving from degree to degree seems like the easy choice when you look at all the other possibilities.

So, there’s the trick. To make education life itself, although perhaps not centre my whole life around education.

______________

In other news, today was my first day of lectures. Although mostly review, it was nice to begin this process and to start getting back in to the swing of things. We also had a psychology department reception this evening, which was a great way to meet other psychology students and chat with our faculty.

Due to the arrangement of the program (MMB students have a set schedule of courses, we don’t choose electives) I imagine that we will become a very tightly-knit group. I look forward to exchanging ideas and exploring new ways of thinking about the same problem. As I’ve mentioned before, with all our different backgrounds, this should be a particularly interesting year.

Now, share with me...

