I Say, Ol’ Chap

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Before I even go into the details of the nine hour trek across the Atlantic, I would just like to take a few minutes to marvel in the wonder that is the Choir of Westminster Abbey.

After checking in to our hotel, I started reading the guidebooks that had somehow squeezed in to our luggage, and realized that Westminster Abbey has daily Evensong services. Even better, on Tuesdays (and every other day except Wednesdays) the choir sings the service. From the first notes of the Introit to the final benediction, the service was breathtaking. Now the only issue is figuring out how to get them to sing at my wedding/childrens’ baptisms/funeral/every other major event in my life. Mom has already deemed that the highlight of the entire trip (although we have quite a few more days). I’m reluctant to give it such a high position without having seen the rest of London; however, I’m just not sure how anything could top it. Not only is the space beautiful beyond imagination, but the sounds those boys create…there are no words.

The rest of our day was spent wandering around London seeing Big Ben, the Parliament, the London Eye, and so many other buildings that I couldn’t find in my tour book. Seeing these iconic landmarks for the first time makes us (and I think everyone around us judging by all the people stopping to take pictures) basically giddy. I mean, who doesn’t dream of taking a breather on Big Ben’s hands en route to Neverland?

Although our jet lagged bodies may have made some poor choices (e.g. Pizza Hut), we made it through our first [very long] day in London, and hopefully have tuckered ourselves out enough that we will sleep through the night. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. And we’ll see if London can top the boys of Westminster.

One thought on “I Say, Ol’ Chap

Now, share with me...

