Off the Hook

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Since returning to London, I’ve been trying to come up with a new topic to post about. I’ve finally gotten back into the swing of things (in other words, I’m no longer jet lagged), and we’re planning lots of things for the next few weeks (Dim Sum, seeing the Iron Lady, a musical, to name a few on our list), but since I’ve been back I’ve basically been sleeping, reading, and attending lectures.

Therefore, I was quite relieved today when I realised that I don’t need to write an entry for this week because I already have one! As part of our course, each student is required (along with one or two other students) to write a blog on one of our invited speakers. My friend, Nora, and I wrote on Adam Ockelford’s talk in November about the relationships between blindness and autism and musicianship.

You may know Ockelford without realising it because he is long-time teacher to Derek Paravicini, an exceptional pianist who is also a blind, autistic savant. Here’s the link to the blog (and it should be interesting to follow throughout the year as new talk summaries are added!):

http://musicmindandbrain.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/the-exceptional-world-of-blind-and-autistic-children/

I’ll also just include some of my favourite photos from this Christmas holiday, just for posterity’s sake.

I will also say that our Christmas included a bit of British tradition because I brought home [the contents of] Christmas crackers (below with the Santa Clauses). Apparently Christmas crackers date back to the Victorian era, and now almost every household in the England will have these at family celebrations during the holidays. Inside there is always a crown (you’ll see us modelling), a little joke, and a small trinket. It was quite fun to share the tradition with my family. Picking up little traditions from each country I visit is one of my favourite parts about traveling.

Now, share with me...

