Overture to the Move

Saturday, September 17, 2011

There it is. My whole life. Wrapped up in neat little packages and put into lightweight, color-coordinated luggage. After obsessively weighing everything and saying tearful goodbyes to my beloved books, I think I’m ready. My books will wait for me. My clothes that were left behind will be great surprises when I return to Kansas for Christmas.

It’s my favorite part of any show: the tuning, the anticipation, the redirection of light to the curtain, the foreshadowing of melodies and motifs in tight little packages.

To London.

2 thoughts on “Overture to the Move

  1. […] It’s amazing to look back on this post from over a year ago when I was doing my “soul-preparations” to move to the UK for a year. I had no idea what to expect, was nervous about staring a masters program, and was, of course, worried I wouldn’t have any friends. Tomorrow at this time I’ll be on US soil. […]

Now, share with me...

