Thank goodness for tea

Sunday, September 25, 2011

The Brits really know how to do it. They almost put the Southern hospitality of Agnes Scott to shame. I just got home from a “cream tea” with all the other international students. It was 1) quite delicious, 2) a great alternative to lunch, and 3) a very nice way to meet other international students. Now, mind you, the people with whom I sat were from the United States and Canada, but that was an accident, so you can’t say I didn’t try.

I also somehow managed to sit with all post-grads, which made the afternoon very enjoyable as each person to sit down had a different program we’d never heard of. I’m planning on dinner tonight with my flatmates and some of the people I met at the tea. I’m encouraged to find out that everyone is just as confused as I am about things like phones, banking, and the British education system. Like, what’s induction? I don’t know. But, I’ll let you know on Tuesday. It seems like some kind of information session for the program, although that word brings to mind candles and Thomas Jefferson quotes and oaths.

After Mom leaving this morning, the tea was a nice way to make me feel like I actually do want to be here–I’m excited about starting the all the information I’ll learn this week, and especially excited to start classes next week. Ahh, magical tea.

Now, share with me...

