Wouldn’t It Be Loverly

Friday, August 19, 2011

With a little over four weeks until I head across the Atlantic, it’s about time I dust off the old blog. On September 19, mom and I will jump on a plane in Joplin, Missouri and somehow end up at London Heathrow the next morning.

As always, I’m not sure this trip will become real until we walk off the plane into the classic London fog; however, my preparations are certainly in full swing. Luckily, I received my UK Visa in the mail last week (after much ado–I have to remember that the next time I try to study for a year in the UK) and my endless lists are beginning to dwindle. My preparations for life in England have also included: watching lots of TLC’s “My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding” (clearly an extremely accurate depiction of how my life will be at Goldsmiths’), looking for appropriate shoes for walking in the rain, and purchasing a coat that is both warm and water resistant (the coat business was the most difficult after having spent four years in the South). Mother suggested we watch Midnight Lace (something about being chased around London in the fog), but I may just settle for My Fair Lady. Or, Notting Hill. Either one.

In addition to material preparations, I’ve also been doing some “soul-preparation” by traveling all over the U.S. of A. to visit lovelies. The past two weeks I did a tour of Dallas, Boston, New York and D.C. to catch up some of my favorite people (photos below!). The trip made me realize how lucky we all are to be able to choose where we want to be and what we want to do. We’re each pursuing our dreams in our own ways, and it’s amazing how many forms those dreams take. The most beautiful part of all of this is that none of us know exactly where we want to end up, and that’s more than okay.

So, while I’m hesitant to leave my family for a year, to live in a place I’ve never been, to start a Master’s program, and to be away from my puppy, I know that this is exactly what I want to be doing. What an incredible feeling.

2 thoughts on “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly

Now, share with me...

