There Were Never Such Devoted Sisters

Monday, April 30, 2012

2011 SAI Graduates

When I was first sending out requests for EEG participants, I posted to just about every Facebook group imaginable. One of my long shots was posting to the Sigma Alpha Iota Nationals page, in hopes that one of my SAI sisters would somehow be close to London and willing to participate in a three hour EEG study about music.

Sigma Alpha Iota is an international music fraternity for women that I joined at Agnes Scott; once an SAI, always an SAI. Through SAI, I was able to get to know amazing women who shared one of my greatest passions, music. It was also a wonderful opportunity to be involved in music-based service projects, and really just have fun.

Roommates + SAI Sisters? Check.

When things like this work out, I’m always amazed at the generosity of people. My Facebook pleading prompted a response from a sister studying abroad in Norwich. After some scheduling issues, we finally got to meet this morning to run her EEG. This is when I witness that the “bonds of sisterhood” we talked about in college really do span time and place. Our common experiences with Sigma Alpha Iota facilitated an immediate connection, and while we didn’t sing any songs about sisterhood (I’m sure we could have), it was that kind of feeling.

On top of that, I’m a recipient of SAI’s International Study Grant for Graduate Students, so not only has SAI provided me with one more participant for my thesis, but it’s one of the reasons I’m getting to do this thesis in the first place.

Being so far away from my family has revealed the importance of reaching out to a community that makes me feel at ‘home’. I think singing with the Ionian Singers has definitely done that, but sometimes I forget that I have an international support group of SAIs who are so willing to help in any way possible. As our motto goes, ‘Life is short, but art is long’.

YMCA SAI (?) with my initiation class in 2008.

P.S. I did have my Agnes Scott ring hallmarked (for a reminder about that see this post), and I couldn’t really capture it in a photograph (or really with my eyes…the hallmarks are super tiny), but I tried nonetheless!

Hallmarked Agnes Scott College class ring

Now, share with me...

