Queen Week

ljwb.co.uk

Sunday, May 27, 2012

With the upcoming Diamond Jubilee to celebrate Queen Elizabeth’s 60 years in reign, I imposed a kind of “Queen-week” on myself. My knowledge on the history of the British royal family and the current monarch originates from shows like “The Tudors” , the recent films, The Queen (2006) and The King’s Speech (2010), and stories my mother has told me about Princess Di. While all my information about here comes from media, according to the 2009 docudrama, “The Queen”, Her Majesty has never granted an interview.

The challenge of defining the Queen sparks the most interest in me. She’s neither a celebrity nor a politician. She didn’t choose her fate or run for office, yet her station nonetheless depends on opinion polls and focus groups. What does that make her? A symbol? An advisor? A reminder of the past?

Because I couldn’t answer these questions and couldn’t form an opinion when pub nights end with a discussion of the much-debated monarchy, I decided to engage with the Jubilee instead of completely avoiding it. In my classic style, this won’t be by hosting a barbecue or waving a Union Jack outside Buckingham Palace, but by reading Sally Bedell Smith’s biography, Elizabeth the Queen and trying to formulate my opinion of the royal family. Check back this week for my thoughts!

One thought on “Queen Week

  1. Looking forward to reading your ideas about the queen!
    “Some are born to greatness and others have greatness thrust upon them.”
    Sharlyn

Now, share with me...

