Going Away

Saturday, September 15, 2012

It’s amazing to look back on this post from over a year ago when I was doing my “soul-preparations” to move to the UK for a year. I had no idea what to expect, was nervous about staring a masters program, and was, of course, worried I wouldn’t have any friends. Tomorrow at this time I’ll be on US soil.

Perhaps in a few weeks I’ll be better equipped to reflect on the past year, but as I move on to my next adventure (albeit yet to be determined) I’m so thankful for the experiences I’ve had in London. I’ve grown in absolutely innumerable ways. While I’ve developed into a more confident researcher, I’m also more comfortable asking for help. While my ‘savvy traveler’ skills have increased exponentially and my desire to see the world is stronger than ever, I’ve also recognised the importance of having family close-by.

It’s difficult leaving London and the people who lived this journey with me, but I’ll be back soon without a doubt. I’ll close with lyrics from one of my favourite songs by Innocence Mission, “Going Away”:

Sixty miles or six hundred,

The shadow of the pines

or the sunny station wagon,

We’re looking at the map

and we’re laughing as we’re going.

I’m ready for whatever map I’m handed next.

From the first day in London…

One thought on “Going Away

Now, share with me...

