Graduation and London and Christmas and Kansas

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

I was still sleeping this morning when my Music, Mind & Brain classmates who could make it to London walked across that graduation stage. An official recognition of our accomplishment. I can’t wait for pictures of the MMBs in their garb, but for now I’m left missing my Goldsmiths buds and London during this magical time of year.

London simply transforms during Christmastime, and I’m longing for cozy pubs, mulled wine, German Christmas markets, lights on Oxford Street, holiday parties, Christmas crackers, concerts, and friends with accents. I wouldn’t even mind braving the crazy, crowded Hyde Park Winter Wonderland if it meant eating pretzels with my favorite people.

I suppose southeast Kansas at Christmas is just as charming; the 60-year-old tinsel decorations hanging on the main street could be the perfect postcard for Midwest USA. I can’t help but be thankful for traditions and sparkling lights, for family and tinsel, for giving and receiving, but today I’m also wishing all my London folks a Happy Graduation Week and a Happy Christmas. I miss you all.

I’ll close with images of Christmastime in London last year:

Christmas Market with mulled wine and girlfriends

Christmas Market with mulled wine and girlfriends

Hyde Park Winter Wonderland

Hyde Park Winter Wonderland

MMB Christmas Party

MMB Christmas Party

Christmas Crackers

Christmas Crackers

2 thoughts on “Graduation and London and Christmas and Kansas

  1. Thanks Ruth for the journal entry. I do love to read anything you write. I am certain London at Christmas time is very beautiful. And I am sad for you having to not be present for graduation along with your wonderful friends. I know Pittsburg must have a beauty all it’s own. See you very soon. Merry Christmas. Love, Lolo

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Ruth, I am sorry to tell you I just went to the library to pick up Return To Cranford. They called a little bit ago to say it was in. So wish we could have watched it together you know what I will be doing for a few hours! Tell your Dad thank you again for antibiotic for Sarah. She is better today and school doesn’t start until tomorrow. Also, the trees at Alter had the ash bore as your mom predicted. Someone gave money for the removal—- 37 in all. What a shame. Travel safely, all of you. It was such a wonderful visit for me. Hurry back. I’ll reserve Return To Cranford for us to watch!!! Love, Lolo

    Sent from my iPad

Now, share with me...

