Nobody Knows How They Are Loved

Thursday, February 28, 2013

When preparing my very important birthday post I was reminded of an Innocence Mission song, “When Mac Was Swimming” that pops in my head every time I have to reflect on the love I’m shown on occasions like this one, a very important birthday.

So, we’ll start out this post with some song lyrics to “When Mac Was Swimming:”

When Mac was swimming, I was running late

walking around New Orleans looking for a birthday cake.

It was a great surprise to him, so many people came.

Nobody knows, darling. Nobody knows how they are loved.

Don’t worry, my darling, the sun’s coming up.

Let’s get up early now, dive clear into the day.

Let’s get out of the car with open arms,

not wait to be embraced.

The flowers that grew, the things that happened

since the day you came.

Nobody knows, darling. Nobody knows how they are loved.

Don’t worry, my darling, the sun’s coming up.

I’ve had some wonderful surprises on my birthdays throughout the years. Growing up, I never really had big friend birthday parties, we always saved a big party with my classmates for the annual Reveal Family Pool Party on the last day of school. Starting in 4th or 5th grade, however, my friends decided that it was absolutely imperative that I have a birthday party, so they threw me a surprise party during lunch one day. Oh my goodness was I surprised. It became a kind of tradition every year to throw me a “surprise” party, complete with blindfolds and sneaky friends. I really have the best sneaky friends.

In college, my birthday was one of the few that fell within the school year, so it became a big excuse for a celebration for all of us. And then last year in London, I got the best present ever of a Randy Newman concert. Lucky girl.

This year it’s a low-key Kansas affair. We’re driving to Kansas City for breakfast at an adorable place I discovered on my Kansas City trip with the great Dan Dan. A little shopping and a doo wop show will complete the day. So nice. Then Saturday I’m jetting off to Chicago for a long weekend with friends.

To conclude the birthday post, let’s have a little trip down birthday memory lane.

The best 6th birthday party ever at the National Airforce Museum.

The best 6th birthday party ever at the National Airforce Museum.

The first surprise birthday party (I think). Some pretty ladies.

The first surprise birthday party (I think). Some pretty ladies.

A record of our very important, and very ridiculous, birthday tradition, which we still do when we all get together for a birthday.

A record of our very important, and very ridiculous, birthday tradition, which we still do when we all get together for a birthday.

20th birthday partay decor

20th birthday partay decor

London birthday people before the great Randy Newman concert.

London birthday people before the great Randy Newman concert. And a birthday hat.

I have some pretty great people in my life. People willing to put up with a month of me talking about my birthday, and then they’re even willing to help me celebrate. And they make me feel so loved.

6 thoughts on “Nobody Knows How They Are Loved

  1. Happiest of birthdays Ruth!! You are special and loved and I love your gorgeous throwback pics!! Also, my bday is Feb. 1, so I feel like we sorta own this month, huh? 🙂

  2. And a very Happy Birthday to you Ruth! Don’t go overboard in Kansas City! I hope you have a day , and year, filled with many pleasant moments. Celebrate! Love, Lolo

    Sent from my iPad

Now, share with me...

