Bet your bottom dollar, you’ll lose the blues in Chicago

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Snow is the best. Not just because it’s pretty and you get to wear sweaters and scarves and ear muffs, but because snow kept me in Chicago for an extra day this week.

On Saturday (to continue the birthday celebrations), I flew north to visit friends who moved to Chicago at the end of last year and are settling into their new apartment with their adorable kitties. The big snow storm on Tuesday caused my flight to be moved to Wednesday, so while I was making phone calls and sending emails to make sure the After School Arts Program was covered Wednesday, I was also jumping up and down with excitement.

The few days I spent in Chicago were full of cooking, painting the bathroom, drinking hot chocolate, cat shenanigans, playing games, and chatting, and they were really the perfect remedy for some winter blues I’ve been feeling. Since Torey went to college at the University of Chicago, I spent my fair share of time there playing sightseer and didn’t feel compelled to venture in the snow. This weekend could really be about spending time with people I love.

So, thanks, Snow. I’ll take that extra day of Chicago any time.

Chilly view of the city

Chilly view of the city

H&M live only a few blocks from the beach...which will be great when it's not 20º

H&M live only a few blocks from the beach…which will be great when it’s not 20º

Purple bathroom painting

Purple bathroom painting

We quickly discovered that board games are better with four people, so we recruited a tattooed Clue player

We quickly discovered that board games are better with four people, so we recruited another Clue player

Despite my allergies, I could resist Watson and Fitz

Despite my allergies, I couldn’t resist Watson and Fitz

2 thoughts on “Bet your bottom dollar, you’ll lose the blues in Chicago

Now, share with me...

