WHO PLANNED THIS?

Thursday, April 4, 2013

On a hot Orlando day in 2011, we were walking through Animal Kingdom when my exasperated nephew exclaimed, “Who planned this trip??” Aunt Ruth planned it. Of course. For a 7-year-old, my down-to-the-minute Disney parks plan may have been a little much, so I understood his exhaustion.

The face of a hot, tired Disney goer.

Who planned this trip?!

My mom and I are on Day 9 of asking, “Who planned this?” We’ve been doing Lyn-Genet Recitas’ aptly named, 20-day diet, “The Plan.” Basically, “The Plan” helped us get rid of all the inflammation and toxins in our bodies and now we’re gradually introducing different types of foods to find what foods are reactive for us. I’m lactose intolerant and thought I might be gluten intolerant for about a month last year, so my main goal in starting “The Plan” was to determine foods my body likes. I never (never never never never) thought we’d make it this far, and I have to admit I’ve learned quite a few life lessons.

  1. Inedible foods are exponentially better with the addition of lemon juice.
  2. Seeming impossibilities become way easier and less scary with a partner. If Mom and I had done this individually, I don’t think either of us would have made it through breakfast Day 1.
  3. I should never underestimate my own or another person’s willpower.
  4. Finding that something doesn’t work for me (like chick peas and goat cheese) is not a failure on my part…I should really be celebrating that I can focus on other things that do work.
  5. I need to try different things every once in a while for heaven’s sake. I may not be scared to live in London for a year, but you can bet your bottom dollar I was kind of scared of kale.
  6. Commitment is scary. Almost as scary as planning for the future. But when I take it one day at a time, I get there in small steps.

So, this week I’m celebrating the small things, like confirming that I’m not reactive to wheat and discovering I can make a pretty awesome cup of hot chocolate with rice milk.

One thought on “WHO PLANNED THIS?

  1. Kudos to you and your mom! I made it through Day 15 and then couldn’t take it anymore. I lost 8 lbs. but have gained it back since I stopped. I just got tired of constantly preparing food. It took up all of my time. I didn’t like the Carrot Ginger soup and I got tired of eating seeds. The Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding was very good though. It didn’t help that I reacted to the bread. That depressed me enough to quit. Sorry my email isn’t more uplifting. I’m proud you both though.

Now, share with me...

