All Hail to the Alumnae

Thursday, April 18, 2013

When I was applying to colleges, my mom read Colleges That Change Lives by Loren Pope and somehow got it in her head that we had to go visit Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, GA. Here was the kicker: Agnes Scott is a super small, liberal arts, women’s college, and the other universities on my list didn’t fit into any of those categories. Eventually she convinced me go, “Just for a visit. What could it hurt?”, and like everything else in my life, Mom was right and I fell in love with Agnes Scott.

The campus makes the best first impression–crazy gorgeous. It’s so collegiate and well-maintained (if you need a movie to watch this weekend, rent Scream 2…you can see Agnes in all her glory throughout most of the film), but it was when I started to meet the strong, challenging professors and the dedicated students that I knew I was meant to spend the next four years of my life there.

This weekend is Alumnae Weekend at Agnes Scott, and while it may seem crazy to go back just two years after graduating it’s really that kind of place. In preparation, I think we should do a little walk down Agnes memory lane.

Alison Krauss put it best:

I get a feeling in me
When I remember all those crazy days and crazier nights
Can’t you hear the music playing?
You must have heard them saying
We’re gonna rip ’em up and light up the night

Oh, Atlanta
I hear you calling
I’m coming back to you one fine day
No need to worry
There ain’t no hurry cause I’m
On my way back to Georgia
On my way back to Georgia

One thought on “All Hail to the Alumnae

Now, share with me...

