The World is a Rainbow

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Thank my niece’s kindergarten awards ceremony for the adorable song that inspired today’s blog title. Mom and I have been singing it all week. If you want to sing it too, watch this video.

Yesterday was moving day! Really and truly I moved to Chicago. It still feels a little unreal; I have a big test to take on Saturday (That will determine the fate of my job!! Eek!), and then Mom leaves on Sunday. I’m sure when she leaves me in the big city, as she has done many times before, the fact will sink in that I really and truly live here.

So, for this Ruthursday, I thought we could look back on all the other times Mom has left me in a big city. In her own words, she leaves both “willingly and unwillingly.” I’m blessed beyond measure to have a momma who supports all of my [sometimes crazy] adventures. While Mom leaving is always a terriblehorribleoccurance, it also marks the beginning of finding myself in a new city. So, a little list of my many moves thus far:

1) Española, New Mexico (2007): Kind of the opposite of a big city, but it was my first time living all on my own. I blogged about how New Mexico was my “coming of age” in this here blog post.

McCurdy Mission School in Española, NM

McCurdy Mission School in Española, NM

2) Atlanta, Georgia (2007-2011): Yep, college.

Moving to Atlanta in 2007

Moving to Atlanta in 2007

3) Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada (Summer 2010): I lived in the most beautiful place doing music cognition research. Anne of Green Gables is set in PEI, so what could be better? If you dare, enter into the archives to read posts of my time in PEI starting here.

We drove 24 hours to see the rolling hills of PEI

We drove 24 hours to see the rolling hills of PEI

4) London (2011-2012): It was the best of times living abroad for a year while getting my master’s degree. My first London blog is here.

London: Week 1, September 2011

London: Week 1, September 2011

5) Chicago (2013-?): Here we are! The start of a new adventure.

Apparently I have a thing for highway signs

Apparently I have a thing for highway signs

Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.

Now, share with me...

