And the livin’ is easy

Thursday, June 6, 2013

I’ve successfully maneuvered my first week living in Chicago. Bought a parking permit, got a library card, found the grocery store, played with my new kitty roommates, celebrated a couple of birthdays, and I’m now working on job-related things before orientation next Wednesday.

Today I have a “school hiring meeting” at the program office, so I’ve been putting together a list of schools I’ll apply to, my cover letter, etc. etc. etc.

And for all those wondering about the big-giant-fate-determining-test I took on Saturday, all I can say is, “Gaaaaahhhhh.” While it was a biology content exam, it contained a whole lot of stuff I didn’t think to study (Specifically physics. Say it again with me, ‘Gaaaaahhhhh’), so I’m not feeling overly confident about it. I won’t find out my score until the end of the month, so I’m trying to enjoy the many many good things happening right now. In my pre-pre-service training, some online modules to prepare me for training next week, I’m already learning so much about teaching. I’m fascinated by reading articles and watching videos of successful teachers, so I know I’ll be a teacher eventually, regardless of the results of this test.

This weekend is an extension of the boys’ birthday celebration…we’re going to see Book of Mormon! So excited. And then in a few weeks I’m going to visit my favorite Toremeister in DC to see one of our Muse Machine friends perform in Anything Goes. Like I said, so many good things happening, I can’t let a silly old test bring me down.

P.S. I finished Emily’s pillow (you can read about it here), and here’s the result!!

Happy Engagement, Emily!

Happy Engagement, Emily!

2 thoughts on “And the livin’ is easy

  1. Loved the blog Ruth. Thanks for always including me. Sounds like all is going well so far. Sorry you have to wait until the end of June for test results. That’s really cruel. I have faith in you however. Glad the living accommodations are working out. I know you had a good time celebrating George and Matt’s birthdays together. Chicago is a wonderful place to live. Lots going on. Steve and I lived there in La Grange Park for about 2 years before Dayton. Very rainy day here. Anne and Sarah planted flowers by the porch and lamp post for me. Looks wonderful and I just supervised! I fed them well, however. Take care and thinking of you often. Love, Lolo Sent from my iPad

  2. 1) I’m still obsessed with my pillow.
    2) You are the smartest cookie I know and you will be an amazing teacher!
    3) YOU’RE GOING TO SEE BOOK OF MORMON?!

Now, share with me...

