I cannot tell a lie, I did it with my little hatchet

Thursday, June 13, 2013

I cannot tell a lie.

I forgot it was Thursday. More specifically, I forgot that it was Thursday and that on Thursdays I update my blog. I’ll tell you why I’ve been a Forgetful Francesca: this week I drove my little Camry around to 19 high schools. “Ruth, are you crazy? 19 schools? Why would you do that?” I’ll tell you that too.

As a part of my alternative certification teaching program (for which I still haven’t received my test results, so don’t get too excited), I apply to schools independently. Well, kind of independently. They give us tons of resources on cover letter writing, resume building, interview techniques, etc. But ultimately, I’m the one who has to go around to hundreds of schools dropping of my résumé. It was rough, it took two days, but I gained a better understanding of Chicago, got to know some of the common practices of the public schools here, and met pretty great staff/faculty/students.

So, for today, I’d like to do a little recap of some things I may have forgotten [before I went through my old iPhoto albums].

Remember when Hallie and I were in high school?

STP60123

Remember when Torey and I dressed like characters from Breakfast Club?

STP60550

Remember when my niece and nephew were only this big?

IMG_2652

Remember when Mom and I were basically famous at the Ryman?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Remember when I went to the Olympics?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Remember when I moved to Chicago?

IMG_1198

When I start to get bogged down with all the cover letters and schools and work to do, I try to remember that those are not the stories I’ll tell my kids. I’ll tell them about having great friends and a wonderful family, living all over the place, and taking risks. I cannot tell I lie. I forgot it was Thursday, but a reminder was all I really needed.

One thought on “I cannot tell a lie, I did it with my little hatchet

Now, share with me...

