As long as one and one is two

Thursday, June 20, 2013

My father had to have four children before he got a girl. And then, just for good measure, he had one more and got a Danny Jr. As the lone girl in a family of six children, I had my fair share of pink, but I also got a hammer for my 8th birthday (this year I got a power screwdriver).

So, in honor of Father’s Day this week, here are some things my Dr. Daddy taught me:

  • I know how take a blood pressure. With just a cuff and a stethoscope.
  • I know how to remove an ingrown toenail. Ouch.
  • I know a few situations in which an external fixator is appropriate.
  • I know how to hang a picture, put together anything with directions, and use a level. Always use a level.
  • I know that tomato soup and pumpkin pie should have their own food groups.
  • I know what it means to work hard, make sacrifices, and love unconditionally.

I know I didn’t even scratch the surface of lessons learned from my father, but it’s a start anyway. For a little sappiness, here are some Paul Simon lyrics to get those Father’s Day tears flowing:

I believe a light that shines on you
Will shine on you forever
And though I can’t guarantee
There’s nothing scary hiding under your bed
I’m gonna stand guard like a postcard
Of a Golden Retriever
And never leave till I leave you
With a sweet dream in your bed

Now, share with me...

