Faux Stained Glass Table Numbers a la Frank Lloyd Wright

Friday, June 27, 2014

Last weekend was the beautiful wedding of two of my very favorite friends and former roommates, Hallie & Matt. Because I live 2 blocks from Hallie, am overly organized, and am a bit of a bridesmaidzilla, I was pretty involved in the wedding planning.

Their theme was Frank Lloyd Wright, which seemed strange at first, but it turned out beautifully and perfectly suited to their personalities. My favorite project, which somehow sprung from my brain, were the table numbers.

Hallie and Matt have traveled extensively and lived in faraway places, so we decided that the table numbers wouldn’t be numbers at all, they’d be places. So, after making a list of 18 cities that were dear to them, off I went!

I used these faux stained glass instructions for inspiration, but ended up making a few tweaks, mostly because I didn’t read the directions carefully. Oops.

We found plain, black 8 x 10 frames for $2 a piece at Walmart. We’d also found this Frank Lloyd Wright memory game.  Hallie picked out her favorite 6 stained glass designs, and I went to work modifying them for stained glass.

I cut out apiece of paper to be 8 x 10 and then used a ruler to blow up and simplify the design. I left about a three-inch space at the top of each design for the city. This was the most creative part of the process and definitely the part I loved the most! I’m sure you could print off designs from the internet, but creating my own allowed me to give it my own touch.

IMG_2352

I made 6 different designs, which gave us three repeats for each design. Then, I found a modern stained glass font, and traced the city names into the blank spaces I left. I used this font.

IMG_2355

Next, we removed all the glass from the frames, cleaned it, and sprayed it with a clear acrylic spray. After letting it dry overnight, we started to trace the lines.

After placing the glass on top of the template, we used black puffy paint and a steady hand to trace all of the lines. Let this dry at least overnight.

IMG_2367

Now, it’s time to paint! Basically, you’re painting with clear Elmer’s glue tinted with a few drops of acrylic paint. I used a mini muffin tin to mix my paints.

Mix 2-3 tablespoons of clear glue with 3-4 drops of acrylic paint. Since Hallie & Matt’s wedding colors were purple and green, we chose 2 dark shades and 2 light shades of those colors.

Then, it was up to us to be creative! We really had to glob on the glue/paint, but make sure to stay in the lines! Otherwise, it will start to bleed over to the other boxes. Frank Lloyd Wright usually uses a lot of empty space, so I didn’t try to overload the glass with colors.

IMG_2376

Beware! There WILL be bubbles. It’s unavoidable, so just accept it now. I tried everything from stirring the glue super slowly to popping bubbles with toothpicks. Real stained glass has bubbles anyway.

Once the glue was dry, I sprayed them again with the clear acrylic spray.

Then, I used super glue to glue the glass into the frames. This was the most annoying part and I never really figured it out. The glass and the frames kind of refused to stick, even after using Gorilla glue! If anyone finds a better way to stick them, leave a comment!

For the reception tables, Hallie’s mom bought plate stands, which were a beautiful way to display them. They added so much to the space and brought the Frank Lloyd Wright theme to every table.

IMG_2540

If you try this out or make it your own, link back to this tutorial. There are so many ways this could be modified for all kinds of occasions.

It was such an honor to be a part of the entire wedding process for Hallie and Matt. The weekend couldn’t have been better! And, just for good measure, a picture of the family at the wedding!

photo (8)

4 thoughts on “Faux Stained Glass Table Numbers a la Frank Lloyd Wright

  1. What a wonderful job, Ruth. A perfectly beautiful wedding day I am sure. Wish I had your talents when I was married. Frank would be proud to see what you have done with his designs! Love, Lolo

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Now, share with me...

