Pre-Marital Boot Camp

Sunday, May 17, 2015

IMG_3770

This morning at the gym George and I did this really hard exercise. I won’t try to explain it because it’s complicated and hard and you should probably never try it. Basically it involved George and I accidentally bumping heads multiple times throughout. Literally bumping heads. It also involved a lot of laughter, and in passing I mentioned, “This is like pre-marital boot camp!”

That got me thinking about working out together and how it really is becoming a type of pre-marital counseling for us. The workouts have been rough – we have to be willing to show each other our sweaty weaknesses. We have to celebrate when one of us can do something really easily instead of getting jealous. We have to encourage each other when we feel like we can’t do one more rep. Working towards a goal together really makes me thankful to have a partner in this life.

I remember the first time George and I cooked together it was really hard because I was so used to doing everything myself. I had my own rhythm of chopping and cleaning and mixing and cooking. To add someone else to the mix was difficult at first. Now, however, cooking together is one of our favorite things to do. I always joke that if we had to do the relay cooking challenge on MasterChef we would absolutely win.

Our relationship has been full of learning how to work together. How to let go of our egos or whatever might hold us back and learn to be partners. We’re in this for the long haul.

4 thoughts on “Pre-Marital Boot Camp

  1. Loved your blog Ruth, and it makes perfect sense. Keep up the good workouts and togetherness ! Love, Lolo

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Another fun read. Hmmm, I think working out together replaces the old “If you want to find out if you are compatible, take a trip together.” Made any more wedding plans?

Now, share with me...

