I Work Downtown

Monday, July 17, 2017

IMG_7849

New office with happy “first day” flowers.

Every day for the past 4 weeks, I’ve gotten in my car around 8:44am. I drive downtown. I park in a parking garage. I walk a couple of blocks. I swipe a key card. And at 9:01 I unlock my office door and flip on all my lights (floor/desk lamps are essential when you hate fluorescent lights). And then around 5:07, I walk out of my office and join the throngs of other downtown workers on our trek to the parking garage. It starts all over again.

I have a checklist. I cross things off and they’re legitimately done. I don’t wake up in the middle of the night thinking about that day at work, or something that happened, or something I forgot to do to prepare for the next day. Compared to the past 4 years of my life, my routine seems so much predictable. So much more manageable. I guess that’s what happens when you take a teacher out of the classroom.

So! Big life changes abound. I’ve been settling into my new role as the Director of Education for the Dayton Performing Arts Alliance. Although my job looks different from day to day – I could be meeting with musicians or teachers, I could be out at schools observing, I could be in the office working on programming, I could be welcoming kids to a concert, or I could be at a donor lunch – my worklife has settled into a general routine. George and I spent 4th of July weekend organizing and setting up my new office, so now it’s a happy escape from the fluorescent lights of the cubicle maze in the main office space. And that instinct to “nest” never took over when I was working at any of my various schools. I mean, yeah, I would organize things, but I never really felt like any of my classrooms were mine. I think it’s a pretty darn good sign that this office feels like me.

Now, share with me...

